Published on:

New List of H-2A and H-2B Participating Countries

USCIS has issued a new list designating the countries whose nationals are eligible to participate in the H-2A and H-2B programs. The H-2A and H-2B visa categories permit U.S. employers to bring foreign workers to the U.S. to fill temporary and/or seasonal agricultural jobs (H-2A) and nonagricultural jobs (H-2B). Effective January 18, 2012, nationals from the following 58 countries are eligible to participate in the H-2A and H-2B programs: Argentina, Australia, Barbados, Belize, Brazil, Bulgaria, Canada, Chile, Costa Rica, Croatia, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Estonia, Ethiopia, Fiji, Guatemala, Haiti, Honduras, Hungary, Iceland, Ireland, Israel, Jamaica, Japan, Kiribati, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Mexico, Moldova, Montenegro, Nauru, the Netherlands, Nicaragua, New Zealand, Norway, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Poland, Romania, Samoa, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Solomon Islands, South Africa, South Korea, Spain, Switzerland, Tonga, Turkey, Tuvalu, Ukraine, United Kingdom, Uruguay and Vanuatu. Five new countries were added to the list this year, including Haiti, Iceland, Montenegro, Spain and Switzerland. The country designation is valid for one year and nationals from countries not designated on the list may still obtain an H-2A or H-2B approval if USCIS deems it to be in the interest of the U.S.

Posted in:
Published on:

Comments are closed.

Contact Information